Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies | Project Yum

Ok, I figure if I don’t post a recipe for a week and a half, when I finally get around to it, I better have something pretty yummy to offer. Et voilà: Project Yum’s first cookie recipe.

I must admit, I almost never bake cookies. Partly because I inevitably eat all said cookies within 24 hours. And partly because, as I’ve said, I’m really not that much of a baker. If I’m going to spend time in the kitchen, it’s usually for a full meal, not some deliciously frivolous snack that I can’t eat for lunch.

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies | Project Yum

But it was a special occasion, of sorts. Well, it was a “my partner is going to Italy without me for 10 days and we haven’t been apart for that amount of time in 3 years and instead of going to the Mediterranean I have to go to work everyday so when he leaves I am going to eat my feelings” occasion. This precise occasion definitely called for the addition of the chocolate chips, which were not in the original recipe.

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies | Project Yum

 

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies | Project Yum

Let me tell you: these are some pretty darn good cookies. They’re nice and dense from the brown sugar, but not overly sweet or heavy. Just buttery and chewy and speckled with melty chocolate, which is nicely balanced by the spice of the cinnamon.

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies | Project YumThe moral of the story? I ate all the cookies before Piero’s plane even took off. But you can’t blame me! I mean… look at this beauty:

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies | Project YumI don’t know what it is, but for the past month I have been on a total cookie craving spree! Every single night I have just GOT TO HAVE cookies. Not any other dessert. Just cookies. This was the only time I gave in and made a full 2 dozen, but there have been a lot of Starbucks and Tim Hortons baked good-related field trips in my life recently.

I think it’s just a phase… I’ll get over it, right?

… Maybe not if I keep staring at my photos of cookies.

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • Servings: 24 cookies
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Recipe adapted from Hots Eats and Cool Reads

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cups butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Set aside.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the egg and beat well. Gradually add the flour mixture and beat until mixed.
  4. Roll tablespoons of dough into balls and place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet, spaced about 2 inches apart from each other. Bake for 8-10 minutes, then let cool.



2 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I don’t bake for also the reasons you mention. But if I did, I would make sure my sweet-tooth husband was around. He would never forgive me if I baked cookies while he was away (and blogged about them).

Leave a Reply

