Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto

Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto | Project Yum

So… excuse the slight hiatus on Project Yum. For the past couple of week, I’ve been trying to figure out what I want to do with this ole blog. I had originally started the blog for a course I was taking, which has now ended. I intend to keep blogging, because I cook anyway, so I might as well take pretty pictures of my food to share with youse guys.

In some respects, it’s quite easy to keep food blogging, because I like cooking and photographing my food is fun! I ultimately find it hardest to write about the food I make. So, I have a huge backlog of photographed recipes on my computer that I just haven’t gotten around to posting yet.

And the difficulty with this delay in posting is that I start to forget what I made. I remember making this risotto, but it was… a month ago? More? I’m not sure. So, adding in the details to the recipe start to get more challenging. I need to start making notes about the recipe right after cooking, even if I don’t create an actual post right away. (I’m, like, 90% sure that the recipe below is accurate… I think. Ha! Cook at your own risk.)

Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto | Project Yum

Anyways, the point is, I will soldier on on the blog front… To the risotto! I’m kind of obsessed with risotto. Mushroom risotto, carrot risotto, risotto Milanese (with saffron)… all risotto. Is so good. Nom.

And risotto is one of those dishes that seems fancier than it really is. Don’t get me wrong, making a really good risotto is kind of intimidating, especially when you’re surrounded by Italians. But the process is not actually that challenging. The key is to make the rice creamy without being mushy, which is accomplished by stirring consistently to cook the rice evenly and prevent sticking, while not over-stirring and turning it to mush.

Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto | Project Yum

This particular risotto is packed full of yummy green veggies (the best kind, IMHO). And broad beans, which I had never cooked with before. They’re quite creamy, which matched nicely with the creamy, cheesy risotto.

Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto | Project Yum

The leeks and Brussels sprouts are pan seared until slightly golden and caramelized, then mixed with the beans and cooked risotto, and topped with freshly-grated parmesan, sprigs of rosemary, and toasted pepitas for some crunch.

Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto | Project Yum

This dish makes a great vegetarian main, combining multiple sources of protein (seeds, grain, and beans) for a complete meal. You should probably have seconds.

Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

Recipe adapted from Kitschnflavours

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 2  medium leeks, white and light greens parts only, sliced into discs
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 400ml vegetable broth
  • 100g arborio rice, well rinsed
  • 200g Brussels sprouts, trimmed and sliced into 2 or 3 discs (depending on how big they are)
  • 1 can broad beans, drained and rinsed
  • ¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup milk or cream
  • Parmesan, freshly grated
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • Pepitas, for topping

Directions:

  1. Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. When hot, add a splash of olive oil, the leeks and bay leaf, stirring through to coat them in oil. Let cook, covered, for about 10-15 minutes, until the leeks are tender and translucent.
  2. Meanwhile, in a separate pot, heat the vegetable broth over medium heat. In another large saucepan, heat some olive oil. Add the rice, stirring through often to coat. Take off heat if there’s any sign of the grains sticking to base of pan.
  3. When the leeks are soft, push them to the sides of pan and add the Brussels sprouts. Cover and cook for 10 minutes, before removing the lid again and stirring through.
  4. Sprinkle red pepper flakes into the rice. Add 1/4 cup of stock, stir, and increase the heat to slightly above medium. Once the stock is absorbed, add another 1/4 cup. Repeat this process of adding small amounts of stock once absorbed until the rice is tender and slightly creamy. Stir in the milk/cream once finished.
  5. Add the broad beans to the risotto. Once heated through, add the cooked Brussels sprouts and leeks, stirring to combine.
  6. Serve topped with grated parmesan cheese and toasted pepitas.



5 thoughts on “Brussels Sprout, Broad Bean & Leek Risotto

  1. Oh my, this looks amazing!! So, so happy that I found your recipe on Johnny’s facebook feed! I adore brussels sprouts, despite the bad rep that they’ve attracted, and I’m always looking for new ways to use them. Definitely bookmarking this to make at some point this week! Thanks

    • Thank you! I love Brussels sprouts despite their unpopularity too! Especially if they’re a bit caramelized. Thanks for the follow!

  2. I love Brussels sprouts. Roasted with bits of sweet caramelization…swoon. this looks like a hearty dish that would be perfect for our Autumn. I bet it makes for yummy leftover lunches the next day too.

Leave a Reply

