Shakshuka

Shakshuka | Project Yum

Lately, I have really not been feeling breakfast foods. I mean, I would gladly eat fried eggs every morning. Or pancakes. Or waffles. But on the average day, none of that breakfast deliciousness is happening, mostly because I do want some remnant of a nutritionally-balanced breakfast. And right now, I just can’t stomach cereal or oatmeal. So, for breakfast recently, I’ve been drinking protein shakes most of the time because I don’t want to think about solid food in the morning. (And, yes, drinking my breakfast is also starting to get old pretty quickly.)

What I don’t have a problem with in the morning is eating “dinner” food. I sometimes just eat my dinner leftovers for breakfast, because I would rather eat broccoli first thing than toast.

I’ve been making shakshuka for a while now. I’m not sure where I originally found the recipe, but this is the version that I’ve tweaked to my taste.  Shakshuka is a Middle Eastern/North African dish consisting of poached eggs in a tomato-y, peppery sauce sauce. I think the reason I love shakshuka is that it bridges breakfast and dinner – eggs and veggies in one dish! – and it can be eaten at any time of day. Onions and peppers are sautéed until slightly caramelized, then simmered in tomatoes and topped with eggs, which cook nestled in the sauce. And you can scoop all the spicy and sweet goodness up with warm bread. Now that’s breakfast (or brunch… or dinner!) food I can get on board with.

Shakshuka | Project Yum

Shakshuka

Serves: 2-4 (depending on the number of eggs)

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion, finely diced
  • 1/2 red onion, finely diced
  • 1 poblano pepper, finely chopped (or 1 small bell pepper if you prefer)
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon smoked paprika
  • 1 tablespoon sweet paprika
  • 1 teaspoon vegetarian bouillon powder (or ½ veggie bouillon cube)
  • 2/3 can of diced tomatoes (about 600ml)
  • 4-6 eggs
  • fresh or dried parsley, to garnish
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Shakshuka | Project Yum

Directions:

  1. In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-low heat. Add the onions and cook until translucent and slightly golden brown, roughly 10 minutes.
  2. Add the pepper and cook until tender, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic and paprika, stirring to combine. Let cook for 2 minutes.
  4. Add the bouillon and tomatoes and raise the heat to medium-high. Once the mixture begins to simmer, lower the heat to medium and let cook for 10-15 minutes, until much of the liquid has evaporated and the mixture is thick.
  5. Crack the eggs into the pan and cover. Let cook until the eggs are cooked but the yolks are still runny, about 3-5 minutes.
  6. Garnish with a generous amount of parsley and cracked black pepper. Serve with warm, crusty bread or a toasted pita.

Shakshuka | Project Yum

Shakshuka | Project Yum

3 thoughts on “Shakshuka

  1. Pingback: Creamy, Cheesy Polenta & Egg Skillet | Project Yum

Leave a Reply

